Repurposing Content with Slideshare

Leave a comment

December 8, 2012 by Brian Rock

I was reading some SEO tips the other day, and I saw a suggestion that you re-purpose existing content with Slideshare and/or Scribd. I’d always thought about using Slideshare, but for some reason I never got around to it.

I decided to give it a go, however. I wanted to put the presentation together last weekend, but that didn’t happen. So it was high on my to do list this weekend.

I took an existing blog post (Holiday and Christmas Wishlist for Photographers) and turned it into a powerpoint presentation. List types of content (like the list of holiday gift ideas) seem perfect for Slideshare, since you can list an item on each slide.

For me, the strange part was adding text to the slides. As a teacher who uses powerpoint in class, I try to minimize the amount of text. Key bullet points and images work best, and then you want the audience to listen as you explain. With a slideshare presentation, you’re not presenting or talking… so you need to put some words on the slide.

The other cool thing about Slideshare is that you can include live links. So the presentation has links to my blog, the original blog post, my Google Plus profile, and some other properties. We’ll see how this works to drive some traffic and induce some clicks.

Since I uploaded the slideshow about an hour ago, it already has 80 views. I guess that’s cool. We’ll see how it does in the long term, and I’ll report back next week with some data on views and various forms of click-throughs / interaction.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

