On HubPages, HubScore, and DoFollow Links

Leave a comment

January 3, 2013 by Brian Rock

I published a new hub today on HubPages, “Using Webquests in the English and Language Arts Classroom.” Despite the complaints I’ve heard other people make about hubpages, it seems to me like a solid place to build Tier 1 links for SEO purposes.

Let me address a few concerns that people have about HubPages, and then you can think about whether it’s a good solution for you.

On Moderation and Featured Hubs

First, some people complain that HubPages moderates writing and takes hubs down. Every hub that is published goes through a quality assessment, and it won’t be “Featured” for 24 hours. If it’s not featured, it won’t be indexed or followed by search engines, and that’s sad panda for SEO.

But so far, I’ve written 8 hubs and had 8 of them were featured. The ninth hub was just submitted, so it’ll be featured tonight. I find that if you legitimately write something useful and include contextual links, you’ll have no problem at all. Hubs are likely to be taken down if: you include excessive links (more than two per domain, which seems unwise anyway), you spin content (just write something already!), or you are just extremely spammy.

On HubScores and DoFollow Links

The second thing that people complain about is that HubPages will sometimes mark links as nofollow. Again, this is no good, SEO wise. Why build links if they’re not going to be followed by Google?

This is based on two things – a Hubber score and a Hubscore. The Hubber score is your “score” as a participant on HubPages. The Hubscore is an individual score for an individual Hub. Your overall Hubber score needs to be 75, and your individual Hubscore needs to be 40, and your links will be followed.

Is this hard to attain? Didn’t seem like it to me. I joined HubPages, published a few hubs, and my Hubber score slowly rose to the mid 70′s within a week. I participated slightly around the community (answering questions and posting on forums), but nothing out of the ordinary. My sense is that as long as you write legitimate hubs and you stick around for a few days, you’ll be in the 70 to 80 range without a problem.

The individual hubs should never be a problem, either. Every one I published started in the high 40′s and rose from there. These weren’t innocent hubs, either. They had 3, 4, or 5 outbound links. I’m thinking that as long as you write something with legitimate content, your HubScore should be fine; all mine seem to be settling in around the 70′s without any significant traffic.

Is It Going to Last?

Well, I guess we won’t know for a few months. I suppose my Hubber score or my individual Hubs could drop if their traffic falls off.

I’ll keep an eye on this for the next couple months, and post about it again in a month or two. But in the short term, it seems like this is a perfect place to write Tier 1 links for SEO purposes. It’s an authoritative domain and I’m interlinked with other subdomains. I’m actually interested to see how these Hubs do (with a little backlinking) vis-a-vis a fresh blog like List of Webquests.

Brian Rock is a teacher, a writer, and photographer. He publishes a blog about educational technology, as well as maintaining the List of Webquests. You can connect with him via Google Plus.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

