Progress: Almost Time to Cut the Redirects Off to My New Blog

Leave a comment

March 24, 2013 by Brian Rock

March is looking like a good month for my new blog, Rockin’ Photogs. Traffic is up significantly, earnings are up significantly in AdSense. I’ll write a more thorough post on that at the end of the month.

However, I think it’s time to cut off the redirects from my old digital photography blog. If you haven’t been reading this blog regularly, then the short version of the story is that my old blog got hit by Penguin this year. I temporarily set up some redirects for a few pages (302 redirects and meta refreshes) to send some old referral traffic from that blog to my new one. I wanted to jump start things.

But, I’ve been regularly getting 100+ visitors a day to the new blog. Most of those are coming straight from Google, and the percentage that are a result of the redirects has dropped dramatically from over 75% to less than 25%. If I were to cut them off, I’m sure I’d see a little dip in traffic. But, that’s fine. I’m comfortable with the progress I’m making, and I’d rather give up that little bit of traffic than risk having the old penalty transferred to my new domain.

I’m going to wait till the end of the week and cut off the redirects effective April 1. Then, hopefully, the blog can continue it’s growth. Check back at the end of the week for a detailed report on traffic and income for the month, too.

Just published a post today about rechargeable batteries – how to fix rechargeable batteries that are completely dead. It was a solution I found a few months ago, when I got exasperated with some AA batteries that wouldn’t recharge.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

