Daily Content Updates

Leave a comment

May 4, 2013 by Brian Rock

I’m not a huge fan of podcasts. I prefer reading things to watching or listening. But, one that I do follow is the Digital Publishing Podcast by Tristan. One of the reasons is that every podcast is published with a transcript on his blog, so I simply subscribe to the blog in my feedreader and read it every week!

Anyhow, this week’s podcast, episode 25, featured an interesting idea: posting simple, daily updates sharing content from around the web. In this case, he made a small website to share videos of a special kind of rock climbing. A collection of simple posts – a video embed, a short description, and a title – pulled in a small amount of search traffic from long tail keywords.

When I first launched my original digital photography blog, I had a similar idea – sharing a daily photo from Flickr with a comment and/or critique. I decided I’m going to try the same thing on Rockin’ Photogs, except this time it’ll be video instead of images. There are tons of great video tutorials on YouTube and Vimeo, so the plan is to embed one of these every day and silo it in a separate category on the website.

With any luck, this will pull in a small amount of traffic from long tail keywords, and I can then drive that traffic to another part of my website – either the relevant category with my own tutorials or to a post about something specific like downloading the Canon EOS Utility or downloading Canon’s Picture Style Editor.

In retrospect, it’s kind of like content marketing in reverse… syndicating someone else’s content and using it to attract and drive views to your own content. Well, we’ll see how it goes.

You can take a look at the video tutorials on Rockin’ Photogs using the Daily Video Tutorials tag. I’m going to try and keep up with this for a month and then look back at whether or not it helped at the end of the month.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

