Branching Out: Pinterest, Twitter, and Facebook

Leave a comment

April 4, 2012 by Brian Rock

Social media is where it’s at these days.

love Facebook for raw, social traffic. For my NJ photography studio, it’s a great way to get our work in front of people. It’s simple. I take pictures, I upload them, I tag people… and now, my work is in front of hundreds or thousands of new faces. In terms of impressions, I’m likely to get a lot more impressions through a Facebook wall than through Google. You can check out out our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/ogphotos.

I’ve also been experimenting with Pinterest. I had no idea what this was until a few weeks ago. I was looking through my Google Webmaster Tools, and I found a link from Pinterest. Looked cool, so I signed up for a personal Pinterest account. I later received an invite and set up a separate account to help promote my photography studio.

What’s so great about Pinterest? Well, if the pictures are cool, they’ll help get you some traffic. In terms of SEO, each image you pin creates a link back to your page. They’re nofollow links, but there’s still an argument that there’s some value to be had here. I’d say it’s a great tool to have in our arsenal to help diversify your backlink profile and improve your site’s SEO presence.

And, of course, there’s also Twitter. I wasn’t into it, much, but I recently created a Twitter page for Digital Photography Howto. I don’t use it that much yet, but I have a feeling that I’ll become much more involved over the next few months.

I need to get into Google Plus more, too, but that’s something for the future. I’ve created a personal profile, but haven’t really done much yet. I figure Twitter and Pinterest are enough to play with for now, and I can worry about Google Plus in a few weeks/months when I get a handle on these other sites.

Leave a comment