New Website About Exercise Equipment

Leave a comment

April 6, 2012 by Brian Rock

In the past year, I’ve learned a lot about web design, SEO, and how to make an effective website. My digital photography blog is becoming increasingly successful, both in terms of traffic and income. I’m working on my photography studio’s website, and improving our rankings there.

One of the most important things I’ve learned, though, is that if you monetize and optimize a website properly, you can make a decent chunk of money without a whole lot of effort. I’ve poured days and days into my photography blog, and although I enjoy writing about photography I’d say that 90% of it is not monetizable. The small part of that blog that is profitable, though, is quite a nice ROI – hundreds of dollars a month for a few hours of work.

I’ve thought about making smaller “niche” websites before, but somehow I never got my feet under me. This week, I heard that GoDaddy was running a promotion, and I snagged three domain names, two years a piece, for $20. Then, yesterday, I finally got it together to put together a small niche website about exercise equipment – Elliptical Machines vs. Treadmills.

After doing some keyword research, I’ve determined that there’s a decent amount of traffic to be garnished (at least 5,000 to 10,000 visitors per month) if I can optimize the website to rank well. There’s some competition in the niche, but not all that much. And, with 5,000 visitors a month, I should be able to make a nice chunk of change on the website.

At the moment, I’ve set up the front few articles, about the pro and cons of elliptical machines and the pros and cons of treadmills. The next step is to populate the blog with some reviews of different exercise equipment. Then, at the end, I’ll set up a slow stream of blog articles about fitness to keep the site from turning totally stagnant.

My goal is that by summer time (June, July), the website will rank for some keywords, pull in a few thousand visitors a month, and be on pace to make $100+ a month. My long term goal is $500+ per month, but that could take a few more months. Let’s see how this goes.

Leave a Reply

