New Digital Photography Blog: Rockin’ Photogs

3

January 28, 2013 by Brian Rock

It’s official. Rockin’ Photogs is open for business.

As I mentioned previously, I’m giving up on my old digital photography blog (Digital Photography How To) because it got hit pretty bad by Google Penguin. It went from 600 – 700 visits a day in Google to about… 10. Ouch.

I bought a new domain (http://rockin-photogs.com) a few days ago, and I’ve spent the weekend putting together a new site. I rewrote some of the content that was still getting traffic (referrals, Bing, or Yahoo), and posted it to Rockin’ Photogs to get started.

Then, I set up a 302 redirect using the Quick Page/Post Redirection Plugin for WordPress. If you need to redirect posts for WordPress, this is the way to do it. Lots of options, including type of redirect (301, 302, or Meta Refresh).

Anyhow, the reason I chose a 302 redirect is because (from what I understand) this will send visitors to the new location without passing any link juice and (hopefully) possible penalties). DPHT got hammered, as far as I can tell, for some bad linking. I’m assuming that I over-optimized a few pages with links, and that’s why I completely dropped out of the search results. So I don’t want to create a 301 redirect and pass a possible penalty along to a brand new domain.

In the end, this is a good chance to start over. I can save and rewrite the content that’s useful. I can ditch the content that was, well, filler. And I can start fresh with linking. The plan is to create some strong tier 1 links (HubPages, WordPress, Blogger, Yahoo! Voices, etc) and then eventually funnel some link juice through them. However, I’m thinking that in the short term, I don’t want to do too much until the domain has aged a bit.

So, for the next month or two, it’s an occasional comment, a guest post or two, and some tier 1 links. In a couple months, I can pump some backlinks to these other links, and hopefully juice them up and push my new site into the SERPs.

My goal? Reach at least $100 / month income from this site by June. I think that’s reasonable. And from there I can push up to a few hundred and, in the long term, $500 to $1,000 by next year. If I’m lucky.

So, check out the new site. Read my review of the Canon EOS Rebel t3i and the Canon EOS Rebel t4i. Spread the love and link a bit, or send out a tweet maybe. And hopefully this project will get off the ground running.

3 thoughts on “New Digital Photography Blog: Rockin’ Photogs

  1. I every time used to study paragraph in news papers but now
    as I am a user of web therefore from now I am using net for posts, thanks to web.

  2. weight lose says:

    I do not even know how I stopped up right here, but I thought this submit used to be great.

    I don’t recognize who you’re however certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger if you aren’t already.

    Cheers!

  3. I just like the valuable info you provide on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check once more right here regularly. I am relatively sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

