Branching Out into Pinterest for SEO Purposes

Leave a comment

March 3, 2013 by Brian Rock

I signed up for a Pinterest account back when it first took off, and shortly thereafter I kind of forgot about it. I hadn’t really gotten into it for its own sake, and my old photography blog died off so I didn’t need to pin anything for the sake of SEO.

This weekend, I decided it was time to crack open that old Pinterest account and get back at it.

I think it works well with what I’ve got going on at Rockin’ Photogs. A lot of the posts are based around images, so it’s really easy to pin something from the post.

In terms of the yearbook posts (of which I plan to make more), then these things I would expect might get some click-through traffic. People browsing Pinterest for yearbook layouts and pages would probably click through to read the article about the layout.

But I also created two boards specifically for photography: Basketball Photos and Track Photos. My plan is to pin the photos/articles on Rockin Photogs, make some photo posts on the Tumblr blog connected to Rockin’ Photogs and pin those as well, and then regularly pin some other cool sports photos that I find on Flickr or Pinterest.

I’m really not active on LinkedIn, Facebook, or Twitter, but Pinterest is something I can actually get into. I like looking at pictures. And I think by being active, I’ll end up with a more powerful profile that converts more traffic and SEO value back to my other sites.

As for linking, the built in links are all nofollow. But, I realized you can drop a link in the description, and it is dofollow. Usually, I just drop a naked URL link to the domain (i.e. rockin-photogs.com) at the beginning or the end. Putting the whole URL of a specific post would look bad and eat up characters. And apparently you can’t use shortlinks; I tried using a goo.gl shortlink and it wouldn’t work.

Just another idea to add to the toolbox. I’m no expert on this, but I’ll see how it goes over the next couple months. In the meantime, why don’t you check out some of my boards on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

