Assessing the Progress of My New Blog

1

March 9, 2013 by Brian Rock

It’s been roughly six weeks since I launched my new digital photography blog, Rockin’ Photogs. This seems like a good time to look back over the past month and a half, evaluate how well things are going.

Content Migration. At this point, I’ve published 26 posts on Rockin’ Photogs. Probably a dozen of those or so are previously popular articles that I migrated from Digital Photography How To and then targeted with a redirect. I think I’ve scavenged more or less what I want, and from here I’ll be writing fresh content.

Content Mapping / Outlining. The other day I sat down and listed a bunch of post titles and ideas. I came up with about three or four dozen. This should keep me busy for a while, and I plan on writing a bunch of those up tomorrow so I can schedule some posts to go live for the next couple weeks.

Backlinking. I’ve started doing some backlinking to get the Google juice flowing. Obviously, I regularly link here. I wrote a guest post on the ComLuv network. I started a Tumblr blog to syndicate my posts, and I also upload additional photos there to bulk out the content a bit. I’ve written several hubs on HubPages, I published a Yahoo! Voices article, and I updated links in some old web 2.0 properties I had to point to Rockin’ Photogs instead of my old site. I also got a couple of articles listed in a tutorial directory. Moving forward, the plan is to post a few more legitimate guest posts, some more Yahoo! Voices articles, and some more hubs.

Traffic. This is always iffy, starting out. The redirects from my old blog helped, and from the get go I was averaging 40 to 60 visits per day. Some of those were from redirects, and some of those were straight from search engines. That held pretty constant for the first month, and over the last two weeks I’ve seen that increase. The SERP rankings for some of my articles have gone up, and search engine traffic has increased with them. This week, I’m finally averaging 100+ visits per day. If those continues for the rest of the month, I’ll probably be cutting off the redirect from my old site.

Income. In the short term, I wanted to earn about $20 / month, because that’s what the residual visits to my old blogs were bringing in. Last month, I earned just below that target – $19.66. This month I’m on pace to earn $20 to $25 from AdSense. So that’s good, and that should continue to improve with traffic. I’m still working on driving traffic to Amazon, although one of my Amazon-oriented articles is rising in the SERPs so I might be able to drive some traffic and clicks in March.

Most Popular Posts

Looking back, here are the most popular posts from the last six weeks:

The good news is that #1 and #2 are picking up steam and attracting more search visits. The bad news is that they’re not very commercial, and that traffic doesn’t earn much money. #3 and #4, on the other hand, can convert into some nice AdSense income, so at least there are some valuable pages in that list.

I’d say the first six weeks have gone great. In the next six weeks, this is what I’d like to accomplish:

  • Continue to increase traffic (150-200 visits/day).
  • Increase AdSense earnings ($35/month)
  • Publish a steady stream of content
  • Write several more “commercial” pieces targeting Amazon products
  • Repurpose commercial pieces into Slideshare presentations
  • Create more Hubs, Yahoo! Articles, and Web 2.0’s
  • Publish four guest posts.

I’ve got a good feeling about this, and I think that I can safely say I’m going in the right direction. I’ll re-evaluate at the end of April, and hopefully things will be looking even better then.

One thought on “Assessing the Progress of My New Blog

  1. What’s up i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i read this post i thought i could also
    make comment due to this sensible article.

Leave a Reply

