Tumblr for SEO: Making the Most of Reblogged Tumblr Posts

10

May 4, 2013 by Brian Rock

Tumblr is an interesting type of social network. It’s not quite the micro-blogging platform of Twitter or Facebook. But it’s not quite the full scale blogging platform of WordPress. It occupies an interesting middle ground, where you can microblog or… blog.

It does, however, make it easy to share and reblog posts to share them with your followers. And this is where some extra value comes in for SEO purposes.

Sure, you can start your own Tumblr blog. You can use it to link back to one of your sites. This is a great technique for building and developing a tier 1 property that funnels page rank and link juice back to your money site.

But how can you make the most of the potential for Tumblr…? You don’t need to include a backlink in every post; in fact, you probably shouldn’t. But, you should try and include a backlink in any post you think is going to be shared or re-blogged.

Take, for example, this post about a dance group that performed at a fashion show at GCU. I didn’t think much of the post. I was really just beefing up the Tumblog. I use it to syndicate links from Rockin’ Photogs, so I also try and post photos there once or twice a week to add some extra indexed pages that don’t include links.

Problem? That post ended up being re-blogged several times. When it was, it included a link back to my Tumblog (which is good), and it included the full text of my post. But… I neglected to include a link in that text. Oops.

So, I decided that I’m going to try and include a link in most of my posts so that I can capitalize on this. The idea is that if I include a link and then a post gets reblogged a few times, that multiplies the number of times the link is out there… increasing the number of subdomains linking back to my money site.

Here’s an example: photos of the 4x800m relay at the CTC Outdoor Championships. It’s a simple post with some photos of a track relay, and it’s got a nice, appropriate, contextual link back to an article on Rockin’ Photogs about shooting track photos. If someone picks up the post an reblogs it because they like the pictures, I’ll also get a free link back to Rockin’ Photogs. Win-win.

10 thoughts on “Tumblr for SEO: Making the Most of Reblogged Tumblr Posts

  1. Reggie says:

    Hurrah, that’s what I was seeking for, what a data! present here at this website, thanks admin of this site.

  2. Dulcie says:

    Hello to every one, the contents existing at this web site are in fact awesome for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  3. Luca says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

  4. Philipp says:

    First of all I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Many thanks!

  5. Elvera says:

    Everyone loves it when individuals get together and share thoughts. Great website, stick with it!

  6. Soon says:

    I have read so many articles or reviews concerning the blogger lovers however this article is truly a pleasant article, keep it up.

  7. Veronica says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  8. Elijah says:

    Coconut oil is good for thyroid and can be used in place of normal cooking oil. Ingrown toenails and fungal infections are also common. Oats, kidney beans, corns, raspberries and blackberries are some of the food items with rich concentration of fiber.

  9. Chong says:

    Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard
    against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any suggestions?

  10. Right now it seems liike BlogEngine is the preferred blogging
    platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

Leave a Reply

